Ethical and Knowledgeable Utah Theft Attorney

Defending those charged with petty theft, robbery and grand theft

At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, our lawyers have experience representing clients who face all types of theft and robbery charges in Utah. In Utah, the most common thefts are for cash. Other items subject to stealing include vehicle parts, electronics, clothing and tools.

The types of theft crimes punishable in Utah include the following:

  • Burglary – Entering or remaining unlawfully in a building with the intent to commit: a felony; theft; or assault on any person
  • Burglary of Vehicle – Unlawful entering any vehicle with the intent to commit a felony or theft
  • Robbery – Taking the property of another individual against his or her will
  • Aggravated robbery – A robbery with use of or threat to use a weapon, that causes another individual injury or involves the stealing of a car
  • Wrongful appropriation – Temporary theft or control of the property of another individual without express consent
  • Theft by extortion or deception (larceny) – Obtaining the property of another individual by threatening violent and/or nonviolent but harmful consequences to the person if he or she does not cooperate, or by deceiving the person
  • Accepting stolen property – Receiving property you know or believe to be illegally obtained
  • Theft of services – Avoiding or refusing payment for services, or obtaining services through coercion, deception or force, and without intent to pay
  • Retail theft – Shoplifting, removing or altering a label, or intentionally under-ringing an item

Classifying your Utah robbery charges

The main factors that determine how theft charges in Utah are classified are the value of the property stolen, the number of previous criminal convictions (if any) and the other circumstances surrounding the stealing. Depending on the severity of the crime, it may be classified as a misdemeanor or felony offense. In general, the classification guidelines are as follows:

  • Class B misdemeanor
    • Value of stolen property is $500 or less
  • Class A misdemeanor
    • Value of stolen property is from $500 to $1,500
  • Third degree felony
    • Value of stolen property is between $1,500 and $5,000
    • You have been convicted of theft twice within the past ten years
  • Second degree felony
    • Value of stolen property is more than $5,000
    • Stolen property included a vehicle or firearm
    • You allegedly used, or were armed with, a dangerous weapon

Don’t gamble with your future. Rely on a trustworthy robbery lawyer in Utah when you face theft charges.

At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, our Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys are well equipped to represent you in your theft case. For more information on how we can help you achieve the minimum penalties possible, call our firm at 801-758-8728 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation. Conveniently located in West Valley City, we represent clients throughout Salt Lake County and the surrounding areas of northern Utah, including Summit County and Davis County, Provo, Ogden and Park City.