Felony & Misdemeanor Defense in Utah
Experienced lawyers who represent clients facing all types of criminal charges
At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, our attorneys are equipped to handle the full range of criminal cases, from minor infractions and misdemeanors to the most serious felonies. With any criminal case, your felony and misdemeanor attorney in Utah has a goal of downgrading or reducing your charges to minimize the penalties or achieving a total dismissal of the charges. See below for detailed information about the varying levels of misdemeanors and felonies, and the penalties associated with each conviction.
Misdemeanor cases in Utah
Misdemeanors are lesser crimes than felonies. Penalties for these crimes may include up to one year in a county jail and/or fines that total $4,750 or less. There are three levels of Utah misdemeanor charges:
- Examples: Driving with a suspended license, driving without any valid license, public intoxication and disorderly conduct
- Possible penalties: Up to 90 days in county jail, and up to $1000 in fines, education or treatment related classes and court or supervised probation
- Examples: Possession of one ounce or less of marijuana, possession of drug paraphernalia, reckless driving and other traffic offenses, DUI, assault, resisting arrest, theft of $500 or less worth of property, trespassing, creating a public nuisance, carrying a concealed weapon
- Possible penalties: Up to six months in county jail, and up to $1,940 in fines, educational or treatment related classes, and court or supervised probation
- Examples: Possession of between one ounce and one pound of marijuana, criminal mischief, assaulting a police officer, theft of $500 to $1,500 worth of property, DUI with injury, negligent homicide, providing false information to an officer, and violation of a protective order
- Possible penalties: Up to one year in county jail, and up to $4,750 in fines, educational or treatment related classes, or court or supervised probation
Utah felony cases
Felonies are more significant crimes than misdemeanors. Penalties for felonies include serving time in a Utah State Prison and steep fines. There are four levels of felony charges in Utah:
- Examples: Third DUI offense within ten years, theft or check forgery of $1,000 to $5,000, aggravated assault, possession of cocaine or other controlled substance, possession of marijuana with intent to distribute, burglary of building other than a dwelling
- Possible penalties: Up to five years in prison, and up to $5,000 in fines
- Examples: Theft or check forgery of amount over $5,000, auto theft, residential burglary, robbery, kidnapping, forcible sexual abuse, intentional abuse of a child, manslaughter, perjury
- Possible penalties: One to 15 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines
- Examples: Aggravated burglary, robbery or arson, possession of a controlled substance with intent to distribute near a school, kidnapping a child, rape, murder
- Possible penalties: A minimum of five years in prison, with a maximum sentence of life and up to $10,000 in fines
- Example: Aggravated murder
- Possible penalties: Life in prison, life in prison without parole, consecutive or concurrent life sentences, the death penalty (capital punishment)
Don’t gamble with your future. Turn to a Utah misdemeanor lawyer or felony attorney who can defend you.
The criminal defense lawyers of Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen understand the implications of a felony or misdemeanor charge for your criminal record and your life. We work to protect you, while dealing with your charges in the best way possible. To schedule a free consultation, call 801-758-8728 or contact us online today. Conveniently located in West Valley City, we represent clients throughout Salt Lake County and the surrounding areas of northern Utah, including Summit County and Davis County, Provo, Ogden and Park City.